Bradley Wiggins

Wiggins wants to win the Giro-Tour Double

Bradley Wiggins, the last Tour de France winner said that he will try to win both the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France this year.
The 32-year-old Briton had previously said that he was likely to target the Giro d’Italia in 2013. However more recently he changed his mind and said that he would try to repeat his Tour de France success.

Bradley Wiggins
Bradley Wiggins at Tour de France 2012

Yesterday, he revealed that he is targeting the “Giro-Tour” double:

“I’m the defending champion. I want to try and win the Giro d’Italia and win the Tour de France behind it. People say it can’t be done, winning two Tours. So let’s have a go at it.”

Chris Froome, Wiggins’ Sky team mate, last years’ Tour de France second-finisher and Vuelta a España runner-up last year, is being tipped to win next year’s Tour as he is more suited to the extra mountain stages. He helped Wiggins to win 2012 Tour de France, and previously revealed that he is targeting the Tour de France and UCI Road World Championships in Toscana (Tuscany) for 2013 season. He looked stronger in the mountains, although Wiggins was superior in the time trials. However 2013 Tour is more mountainous than the 2012 edition and also has fewer time trial kilometers.

Wiggins wants to join the greats. Only seven cyclists achieved Giro-Tour Double in history, and the last one was in 1998:

1998 Marco Pantani Italy Flag Italy
1992, 1993 Miguel Indurain Spain Flag Spain
1987 Stephen Roche Ireland Flag Ireland
1982, 1985 Bernard Hinault France Flag France
1970, 1972, 1974 Eddy Merckx Belgium Flag Belgium
1964 Jacques Anquetil France Flag France
1949, 1952 Fausto Coppi Italy Flag Italy
Fausto Coppi
In 1949, Fausto Coppi, “il campionissimo” achieved the first Giro-Tour double in history. He did again in 1952.
Jacques Anquetil
Jacques Anquetil won the Giro-Tour double in 1964.
Eddy Merckx
Eddy Merckx, “The Cannibal” won the Giro-Tour double 3-time: 1970, 1972 and 1974
Bernard Hinault
Bernard Hinault won the Giro-Tour double in both 1982 and 1985.
Stephen Roche
Stephen Roche won the Giro-Tour double in 1987.
Miguel Indurain
Miguel Indurain won the Giro-Tour double in both 1992 and 1993.
Marco Pantani
Marco Pantani is the last Giro-Tour double winner (1998).