Vélo d’Or

The “Vélo d’Or” (French for “Golden Bicycle”) is a cycle racing award, created in 1992 by the French cycling magazine Vélo Magazine.

With a panel of sports journalists from around the world, the award is given annually to the rider considered to have performed the best over the year in all cycling disciplines (not only road cyclists). But until now, the award went to only road cyclists.

Here is the complete list of the Vélo d’Or winners:

1992 Spain Flag Miguel Indurain (ESP) Switzerland Flag Tony Rominger (SUI) Italy Flag Claudio Chiappucci (ITA)
1993 Spain Flag Miguel Indurain (ESP) Italy Flag Maurizio Fondriest (ITA) Switzerland Flag Tony Rominger (SUI)
1994 Switzerland Flag Tony Rominger (SUI) Spain Flag Miguel Indurain (ESP) Russia Flag Evgeni Berzin (RUS)
1995 France Flag Laurent Jalabert (FRA) Spain Flag Miguel Indurain (ESP) Spain Flag Abraham Olano (ESP)
1996 Belgium Flag Johan Museeuw (BEL) Denmark Flag Bjarne Riis (DEN) Switzerland Flag Alex Zülle (SUI)
1997 Germany Flag Jan Ullrich (GER) France Flag Laurent Jalabert (FRA) Italy Flag Marco Pantani (ITA)
1998 Italy Flag Marco Pantani (ITA) Italy Flag Michele Bartoli (ITA) USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA)
1999 USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Germany Flag Jan Ullrich (GER) Belgium Flag Andrei Tchmil (BEL)
2000 USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Germany Flag Erik Zabel (GER) Germany Flag Jan Ullrich (GER)
2001 USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Germany Flag Erik Zabel (GER) Netherlands Flag Erik Dekker (NED)
2002 Italy Flag Mario Cipollini (ITA) USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Italy Flag Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2003 USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Italy Flag Paolo Bettini (ITA) Kazakhstan Flag Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ)
2004 USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Italy Flag Damiano Cunego (ITA) Spain Flag Óscar Freire (ESP)
2005 Belgium Flag Tom Boonen (BEL) USA Flag Lance Armstrong (USA) Italy Flag Danilo Di Luca (ITA)
2006 Italy Flag Paolo Bettini (ITA) Spain Flag Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Switzerland Flag Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2007 Spain Flag Alberto Contador (ESP) Switzerland Flag Fabian Cancellara (SUI) Italy Flag Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2008 Spain Flag Alberto Contador (ESP) Switzerland Flag Fabian Cancellara (SUI) Spain Flag Carlos Sastre (ESP)
2009 Spain Flag Alberto Contador (ESP) England Flag Mark Cavendish (GBR) Switzerland Flag Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2010 Switzerland Flag Fabian Cancellara (SUI) Spain Flag Alberto Contador (ESP) Luxembourg Flag Andy Schleck (LUX)
2011 Belgium Flag Philippe Gilbert (BEL) Australia Flag Cadel Evans (AUS) England Flag Mark Cavendish (GBR)
2012 England Flag Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Belgium Flag Tom Boonen (BEL) Spain Flag Joaquim Rodríguez (ESP)

M. Özgür Nevres

I am a software developer, an ex-racing cyclist (at the amateur level) and a science enthusiast. Also an animal lover! I write about cycling on this website, cycling-passion.com. You can check out my social media profiles by clicking on their icons.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.