Tyler Hamilton‘s book, “The Secret Race” won the William Hill Sports Book of the Year prize for 2012, becoming the third cycling book to win the prestigious British prize.

The announcement was made this afternoon at Waterstones Piccadilly by BBC sports journalist John Inverdale.

Inverdale declared “Candidates of the prize are the strongest since his involvement with the prize”, but said that “ultimately The Secret Race had to win, because it has fundamentally change the sport that it’s writing about.”

William Hill Sports Book of the Year prize 2012
Tyler Hamilton’s “The Secret Race” won William Hill Sports Book of the Year prize 2012. Hamilton and co-author Daniel Coyle taking the prize.

Tyler Hamilton said in his acceptance speech, “it is the truth, and the truth needed to be told.”

Co-author of the book, said that “We’re all here because we love heroes, and we love stories about heroes” but that, though heroes are those elevated above the rest, “Tyler’s story shows how important the collective is.”

“The Secret Race” is the third cycling book to win the William Hill Sports Book of the Year prize. Sports journalist and former professional cyclist Paul Kimmage‘s book “Rough Ride” won in 1990, and the Irishman became one of the biggest anti-doping campaigners in the sport. And the other was, ironically, Lance Armstrong‘s “It’s Not About the Bike”, won in 2000, written with columnist Sally Jenkins.

Tyler Hamilton was a teammate of banned cyclist Lance Armstrong during the 1999, 2000 and 2001 Tour de France where Armstrong won the Yellow jersey.

Tyler Hamilton and Lance Armstrong, US Postal
Tyler Hamilton and Lance Armstrong were teammates at the team US Postal Service.


M. Özgür Nevres

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.