Peter Sagan wins the Brabantse Pijl 2013

Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling) won the Flanders classic Brabantse Pijl[1] 2013 edition. Current UCI World Champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team) finished in second, and Björn Leukemans (Vacansoleil-DCM) completed the podium.

Peter Sagan wins Brabantse Pijl 2013
Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling) wins Brabantse Pijl 2013 with UCI World Champion Philippe Gilbert in second.

Before the race, Sagan gave the podium girl Maja Leye flowers, and apologized to her again, in person. And with winning the race, he took the flowers back ( 🙂 ), with a kiss.

With 2 km to go, Sagan attacked from a late breakaway on the final climb of the precursor to the Ardennes classicsed, and only Gilbert managed to follow him. Leukemans followed them a few seconds back, then he caught them, but just for a few seconds. He couldn’t sprint, he had nothing left in the tank. In the final meters, Gilbert opened the sprint, maybe thinking that Sagan was tired after doing all the chasing in the last 2 km, but the young Slovakian of Cannondale quickly got into his slipstream and cames through in the final 50 meters. He had just about enough to come through and took the win.

With finishing in second, Philippe Gilbert’s search for a win in the rainbow jersey continues. He didn’t win a single race in the UCI World Champion jersey, until now.

Leukemans finished in third with Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) in fourth.

Peter Sagan apologized to Maja Leye before the Brabantse Pijl 2013
Peter Sagan apologized to Maja Leye before the Brabantse Pijl 2013
Peter Sagan wins Brabantse Pijl 2013 (podium)
Brabantse Pijl 2013 podium: 1- Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling), 2- Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team), 3- Björn Leukemans (Vacansoleil-DCM).

Brabantse Pijl 2013 Results

1 Peter Sagan Slovakia Cannondale Pro Cycling 4:45:05
2 Philippe Gilbert Belgium BMC Racing Team
3 Bjorn Leukemans Belgium Vacansoleil-DCM 0:00:04
4 Sylvain Chavanel France Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:09
5 Simon Geschke Germany Team Argos-Shimano
6 Greg Van Avermaet Belgium BMC Racing Team 0:00:11
7 Davide Malacarne Italy Team Europcar 0:00:17
8 Stijn Devolder Belgium RadioShack Leopard 0:00:19
9 Paul Voss Germany Team NetApp-Endura 0:00:22
10 Kenny Dehaes Belgium Lotto Belisol 0:00:25
11 Nikolas Maes Belgium Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:28
12 Sergey Lagutin Uzbekistan Vacansoleil-DCM 0:00:54
13 Tony Gallopin France RadioShack Leopard 0:00:57
14 Thomas Voeckler France Team Europcar
15 Danilo Wyss Switzerland BMC Racing Team
16 Michel Kreder Netherlands Garmin-Sharp
17 Pieter Serry Belgium Omega Pharma-Quick Step
18 Romain Zingle Belgium Cofidis, Solutions Credits
19 Tim Wellens Belgium Lotto Belisol
20 Nicolas Edet France Cofidis, Solutions Credits
21 Maxime Vantomme Belgium Crelan-Euphony
22 Vincent Jerome France Team Europcar
23 Thomas Dekker Netherlands Garmin-Sharp
24 Nicki Sörensen Denmark Team Saxo-Tinkoff
25 Francois Parisien Canada Team Argos-Shimano
26 Scott Thwaites Great Britain Team NetApp-Endura
27 Matthias Brandle Austria IAM Cycling
28 Karsten Kroon Netherlands Team Saxo-Tinkoff
29 Alessandro Bazzana Italy UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:01:03
30 Kévin Reza France Team Europcar
31 Daniel Schorn Austria Team NetApp-Endura
32 Jérôme Pineau France Omega Pharma-Quick Step
33 Thierry Hupond France Team Argos-Shimano
34 Jurgen Van Goolen Belgium Accent Jobs-Wanty 0:01:06
35 Kevin De Weert Belgium Omega Pharma-Quick Step
36 David De La Cruz Melgarejo Spain Team NetApp-Endura
37 Laurens De Vreese Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
38 Yukiya Arashiro Japan Team Europcar
39 Reinier Honig Netherlands Crelan-Euphony
40 Sébastien Delfosse Belgium Crelan-Euphony
41 Tosh Van Der Sande Belgium Lotto Belisol
42 Sander Armee Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
43 Marco Marcato Italy Vacansoleil-DCM
44 Xavier Florencio Cabre Spain Katusha
45 Pier Paolo De Negri Italy Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
46 Simon Spilak Slovenia Katusha
47 Martin Velits Slovakia Omega Pharma-Quick Step
48 Wouter Poels Netherlands Vacansoleil-DCM 0:01:14
49 Reto Hollenstein Switzerland IAM Cycling 0:01:16
50 Pieter Jacobs Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
51 Kristof Vandewalle Belgium Omega Pharma-Quick Step
52 Damiano Caruso Italy Cannondale Pro Cycling
53 Moreno Moser Italy Cannondale Pro Cycling
54 Lukasz Owsian Poland CCC Polsat Polkowice
55 Julien Vermote Belgium Omega Pharma-Quick Step
56 Jan Bakelants Belgium RadioShack Leopard
57 Gerald Ciolek Germany MTN-Qhubeka
58 Benjamin King USA RadioShack Leopard
59 Fabio Taborre Italy Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:01:31
60 Johannes Fröhlinger Germany Team Argos-Shimano 0:02:17
61 Jay Mccarthy Australia Team Saxo-Tinkoff
62 Nico Sijmens Belgium Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:02:29
63 Preben Van Hecke Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
64 Jonathan Fumeaux Switzerland IAM Cycling 0:04:22
65 Pirmin Lang Switzerland IAM Cycling
66 Kristian Sbaragli Italy MTN-Qhubeka 0:05:06
67 Sander Helven Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise 0:05:09
68 Rob Ruijgh Netherlands Vacansoleil-DCM 0:05:18
69 Klaas Lodewyck Belgium BMC Racing Team
70 Martin Kohler Switzerland BMC Racing Team
71 Patrick Schelling Switzerland IAM Cycling
72 Sergey Klimov Russia RusVelo 0:05:26
73 Olivier Kaisen Belgium Lotto Belisol
74 Ryota Nishizono Japan Champion System Pro Cycling Team
75 Pim Ligthart Netherlands Vacansoleil-DCM
76 Adrian Honkisz Poland CCC Polsat Polkowice
77 Gaetan Bille Belgium Lotto Belisol
78 Arthur Vanoverberghe Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
79 Arnaud Labbe France Cofidis, Solutions Credits
80 Andrei Solomennikov Russia RusVelo
81 Sergei Chernetski Russia Katusha
82 Alexandr Pliuschin Moldova IAM Cycling
83 Bartlomiej Matysiak Poland CCC Polsat Polkowice
84 Will Routley Canada Accent Jobs-Wanty
85 Christopher Jones USA UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
86 Alexander Rybakov Russia RusVelo
87 Lucas Euser USA UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
88 Jurgen Van De Walle Belgium Lotto Belisol
89 Stefano Borchi Italy Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
90 Pavel Brutt Russia Katusha
91 Albert Timmer Netherlands Team Argos-Shimano
92 Kevin Hulsmans Belgium Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
93 Kristof Goddaert Belgium IAM Cycling 0:08:13
94 Gilles Devillers Belgium Crelan-Euphony
95 Dirk Bellemakers Netherlands Lotto Belisol
96 Nathan Haas Australia Garmin-Sharp
97 Marcel Aregger Switzerland IAM Cycling
98 Stefano Agostini Italy Cannondale Pro Cycling
99 Tiziano Dall’Antonia Italy Cannondale Pro Cycling
100 Lucas Sebastian Haedo Argentina Cannondale Pro Cycling
101 Edward King USA Cannondale Pro Cycling
102 Davide Rebellin Italy CCC Polsat Polkowice
103 Chad Beyer USA Champion System Pro Cycling Team
104 Jarl Salomein Belgium Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
105 Christophe Prémont Belgium Crelan-Euphony
106 Ben Hermans Belgium RadioShack Leopard
107 Klaas Sys Belgium Crelan-Euphony
108 Jonathan Mcevoy Great Britain Team NetApp-Endura
109 Nicolas Vogondy France Accent Jobs-Wanty
110 Roman Maikin Russia RusVelo
111 Angelo Tulik France Team Europcar
112 Jan Ghyselinck Belgium Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:08:29
113 Jaroslaw Marycz Poland CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:11:49
114 Mateusz Taciak Poland CCC Polsat Polkowice
115 Ryan Roth Canada Champion System Pro Cycling Team


[1] The Brabantse Pijl (English: Brabant Arrow, French: Flèche Brabançonne or Flèche Branconne) is a Flanders Classics road bicycle race held annually in Flemish Brabant and in Walloon Brabant, Belgium. Since 2005, the race has been organised as a 1.1 event on the UCI Europe Tour. In 2011, it was upgraded to a 1.HC event. (wiki)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.