Giro d’Italia 2014 stages

The route of the Giro d’Italia 2014, the 97th edition of the Italian grand tour, has been unveiled. The race will start in Belfast, Ireland, on May 9th, Friday; and finish in Trieste, Italy, on June 01, Sunday. There will be total of 21 stages with three rest days.

The Giro is starting with a Team-Time-Trial in Belfast, Ireland. This years’ Cima Coppi (the summit with highest altitude reached by cyclists during the Giro d’Italia) will be Passo dello Stelvio, at stage 16. Stage 16 also includes the Passo di Gavia climb. And this year, after 2011, the Monte Zoncolan is back (stage 20).

Stages Summary

8 flat stages
5 medium mountain stages
5 high mountain stages
1 team time-trial stage
2 individual time-trial stages (one of them will be an uphill time trial)

Distinctive Aspects Of The Race

9 uphill finishes, 5 of them are summit finishes in the high mountains
3 rest days
21.7 km team time-trial stage
73.2 km individual time-trial stages

Stage List of the Giro d’Italia 2014

Date Stage Type Start-Finish Km
1 May 09, Fri
Team Time Trial
3-star
Belfast-Belfast 21.7
2 May 10, Sat
Flat
2-star
Belfast-Belfast 219.0
3 May 11, Sun
Flat
1-star
Armagh-Dublin 187.0
May 12, Mon Rest day
4 May 13, Tue
Flat
1-star
Giovinazzo-Bari 112.0
5 May 14, Wed
Medium mountain
3-star
Taranto-Viggiano 203.0
6 May 15, Thu
Medium mountain
2-star
Sassano-Montecassino 247.0
7 May 16, Fri
Flat
2-star
Frosinone-Foligno 211.0
8 May 17, Sat
Medium mountain
4-star
Foligno-Montecopiolo 179.0
9 May 18, Sun
Medium mountain
3-star
Lugo-Sestola 172.0
May 19, Mon Rest day
10 May 20, Tue
Flat
1-star
Modena-Salsomaggiore Terme 173.0
11 May 21, Wed
Medium mountain
3-star
Collecchio-Savona 249.0
12 May 22, Thu
Individual Time Trial
4-star
Barbaresco-Barolo 41.9
13 May 23, Fri
Flat
2-star
Fossano-Rivarolo Canavese 157.0
14 May 24, Sat
High mountain
4-star
Agliè-Oropa 164.0
15 May 25, Sun
High mountain
4-star
Valdengo-Plan di Montecampione 225.0
May 26, Mon Rest day
16 May 27, Tue
High mountain (Cima Coppi)
5-star
Ponte di Legno-Val Martello (Martelltal) 139.0
17 May 28, Wed
Flat
2-star
Sarnonico-Vittorio Veneto 204.0
18 May 29, Thu
High mountain
4-star
Belluno-Rif. Panarotta (Valsugana) 171.0
19 May 30, Fri
Individual Time Trial
5-star
Bassano Del Grappa-Cima Grappa (Crespano Del Grappa) 26.8
20 May 31, Sat
High mountain
5-star
Maniago-Monte Zoncolan 167.0
21 Jun 01, Sun
Flat
1-star
Gemona Del Friuli-Trieste 172.0
Giro d'talia 2014 route profile wheel
Giro d’talia 2014 route profile wheel