The route of the Giro d’Italia 2014, the 97th edition of the Italian grand tour, has been unveiled. The race will start in Belfast, Ireland, on May 9th, Friday; and finish in Trieste, Italy, on June 01, Sunday. There will be a total of 21 stages with three rest days.

The Giro is starting with a Team-Time-Trial in Belfast, Ireland. This year’s Cima Coppi (the summit with the highest altitude reached by cyclists during the Giro d’Italia) will be Passo dello Stelvio, at stage 16. Stage 16 also includes the Passo di Gavia climb. And this year, after 2011, the Monte Zoncolan is back (stage 20).

Giro d’Italia 2014 Stages Summary

  • 8 flat stages
  • 5 medium mountain stages
  • 5 high mountain stages
  • 1 team time-trial stage
  • 2 individual time-trial stages (one of them will be an uphill time trial)

Distinctive Aspects Of The Giro d’Italia 2014

  • 9 uphill finishes, 5 of them are summit finishes in the high mountains
  • 3 rest days
  • 21.7 km team time-trial stage
  • 73.2 km individual time-trial stages
Giro d’Italia 2014 – The route / Il percorso

Stage List of the Giro d’Italia 2014

Stage 1 (Belfast-Belfast, 21.7 km)

  • Date: May 09, Friday
  • Stage Type: Team Time Trial
  • Difficulty: 3-star
  • Details

Stage 2 (Belfast-Belfast, 219.0 km)

  • Date: May 10, Saturday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 2-star
  • Details

Stage 3 (Armagh-Dublin, 187.0 km)

  • Date: May 11, Sunday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 1-star
  • Details

Rest day 1

  • Date: May 12, Monday

Stage 4 (Giovinazzo-Bari, 112.0 km)

  • Date: May 13, Tuesday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 1-star
  • Details

Stage 5 (Taranto-Viggiano, 203.0 km)

  • Date: May 14, Wednesday
  • Stage Type: Medium mountain
  • Difficulty: 3-star
  • Details

Stage 6 (Frosinone-Foligno, 247.0 km)

  • Date: May 15, Thursday
  • Stage Type: Medium mountain
  • Difficulty: 2-star
  • Details

Stage 7 (Sassano-Montecassino, 211.0 km)

  • Date: May 16, Friday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 2-star
  • Details

Stage 8 (Foligno-Montecopiolo, 179.0 km)

  • Date: May 17, Saturday
  • Stage Type: Medium mountain
  • Difficulty: 4-star
  • Details

Stage 9 (Lugo-Sestola, 172.0 km)

  • Date: May 18, Sunday
  • Stage Type: Medium mountain
  • Difficulty: 3-star
  • Details

Rest day 2

  • Date: May 19, Monday

Stage 10 (Modena-Salsomaggiore Terme, 173.0 km)

  • Date: May 20, Tuesday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 1-star
  • Details

Stage 11 (Collecchio-Savona, 249.0 km)

  • Date: May 21, Wednesday
  • Stage Type: Medium mountain
  • Difficulty: 3-star
  • Details

Stage 12 (Barbaresco-Barolo, 41.9 km)

  • Date: May 22, Thursday
  • Stage Type: Individual Time Trial
  • Difficulty: 4-star
  • Details

Stage 13 (Fossano-Rivarolo Canavese, 157.0 km)

  • Date: May 23, Friday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 2-star
  • Details

Stage 14 (Agliè-Oropa, 164.0 km)

  • Date: May 24, Saturday
  • Stage Type: High mountain
  • Difficulty: 4-star
  • Details

Stage 15 (Valdengo-Plan di Montecampione, 225.0 km)

  • Date: May 25, Sunday
  • Stage Type: High mountain
  • Difficulty: 4-star
  • Details

Rest day 3

  • Date: May 26, Monday

Stage 16 (Ponte di Legno-Val Martello (Martelltal), 139.0 km)

  • Date: May 27, Tuesday
  • Stage Type: High mountain (Cima Coppi: Passo dello Stelvio)
  • Difficulty: 5-star
  • Details

Stage 17 (Sarnonico-Vittorio Veneto, 204.0 km)

  • Date: May 28, Wednesday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 2-star
  • Details

Stage 18 (Belluno-Rif. Panarotta (Valsugana), 171.0 km)

  • Date: May 29, Thursday
  • Stage Type: High mountain
  • Difficulty: 4-star
  • Details

Stage 19 (Bassano Del Grappa-Cima Grappa (Crespano Del Grappa), 26.8 km)

  • Date: May 30, Friday
  • Stage Type: Individual Time Trial
  • Difficulty: 5-star
  • Details

Stage 20 (Maniago-Monte Zoncolan, 167.0 km)

  • Date: May 31, Saturday
  • Stage Type: High mountain
  • Difficulty: 5-star
  • Details
Spectators atop Monte Zoncolan

Related: Monte Zoncolan

Stage 21 (Gemona Del Friuli-Trieste, 172.0 km)

  • Date: June 01, Sunday
  • Stage Type: Flat
  • Difficulty: 1-star
  • Details
Giro d'talia 2014 route profile wheel
Giro d’talia 2014 route profile wheel

Sources

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.